01 Oct '20
Events | Thursday Webinar: The effects of climate change in marine spatial planning: pathways and solutions

As marine spatial planning (MSP) operates in a changing ocean, properly addressing and integrating climate effects is vital. However, few marine spatial plans properly or explicitly consider climate change. This is a complex topic, full of intricacies, dimensions, and challenges (scientific, socioeconomic, and political), and multiple solutions will be needed. We highlight ways forward, based on real examples around the globe, on how climate change can be integrated into MSP. Links with global ocean governance goals and sustainable development will be explored.

Presented by: Catarina Frazão Santos of the University of Lisbon and NOVA SBE 

Date/Time: Thursday, October 1, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC

Co-sponsors: OCTO (EBM Tools Network, The Skimmer, OpenChannels, MPA News, MarineDebris.info)

Register: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8941808407516472334

Webinar: The effects of climate change in marine spatial planning: pathways and solutions
  • From 01 October 2020 6:00 PM
  • To 01 October 2020 7:00 PM
  • Location Online
What's happening